365 Project: My Top 5 from the First 30 Days & An Honorable Mention

August 26, 2012 § Leave a comment

In July, on my birthday, I began a 365 Project: taking at least one photo (more, so far) every day and posting it on Flickr (though should you ever choose to do so, you can post your pictures wherever you like).  It’s taken me a while to sift through and narrow it down, but I wanted to share my Top 5 from the first 30 days, the ones I liked best.

Without further adieu, here they are in chronological order:

Then there’s the honorable mention:

If you’re interested in reading the story behind the picture, click the link and read it on Flickr.  The nutshell version, as should be obvious, was that I wasn’t having a great day that day, and had few photos to choose from, so I chose the one more true to the day.

I was so nervous about posting that one.  I’m not terribly comfortable in front of the camera, and on top of it, this showed me at a vulnerable moment.  It wasn’t my best work from a technical perspective.   Something about it touched a nerve, though.  I got a lot of favorable responses to it.  (I linked it on Twitter and Facebook, so there are comments there in addition to the favorites and comments on Flickr.)  It has grown on me because of that, and being brave by putting it out there is making me less afraid of turning the lens on myself.   Maybe one day I will feel comfortable in front of the camera.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading 365 Project: My Top 5 from the First 30 Days & An Honorable Mention at Take A Picture Here.

meta